

Photo: Tourism Bureau Board members present Jordan Awrey with the Trailblazer Award. L-R: Julie Allen, Heather Rasmussen, Eileen Tussey, Jordan Awrey, Paul Beachnau, Mark Copeland, Gary Kosch.

## **PRESS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release Wednesday, May 22, 2024

(Gaylord) The Gaylord Area Convention & Tourism Bureau is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Trailblazer Award, Jordan Awrey. The Tourism Bureau Board of Directors selected Jordan for his dedication to bringing a new vibe to our downtown through the Downtown Gaylord Summer Concert Series.

Jordan's nomination read, "Jordan's enthusiasm for enhancing our downtown is undeniable. He played a role in Gaylord receiving second place in the "Put Your Town on the Map" contest sponsored by Consumer's Energy in 2022. This money was used to start the Art in the Alley project. Jordan was also instrumental in bringing the Downtown Music Series to our Alpine Village. Live music not only serves as a fantastic attraction for visitors but it also brings a sense of unity within the community. Jordan's efforts in organizing this free (and fun!) entertainment option demonstrate his dedication toward boosting tourism in Gaylord. Additionally, his photography, videography and marketing skills effectively promote

the Concert Series and highlight our community's vibrancy. Breathing new life into our downtown seems to be a passion of Jordan's and he excels at following through and making things happen."

Given out annually at the State of the Tourism Industry luncheon, this award was created to recognize an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to improve the local tourism product within Gaylord/Otsego County and the surrounding area. The honor is intended not only to commend the recipient(s) for their contribution, but also to further raise awareness of the many tourism-related enhancements taking place around us each day.

Past recipients include: 2023 – Kat Steinbrecher - Mary's Stein Haus, Porter Haus, Abi's Bistro, Kane's Lobster Pot; 2022 – Mark Copeland – Jay's Sporting Goods; 2021 – Scott & Janice Lampert – Sojourn Lakeside Resort, Sugar Bowl historic building, Fairfield Inn; 2021 – Justin Hacker – Gaylord Disc Golf Course; 2020 – Gary Kosch – Alpine Tavern & Otsego Grand Event Center; 2020 – Jerry Beattie – Sled Shed & Gaylord Area Snowmobile Trails Council.

\*\* For more information, please contact Christy Walcott at 989-732-4000 \*\*

